Books from (or with contributions of) UMCG authors

Drug Utilization Research

Towards a better understanding of how medicines are used in society Drug Utilization Research (DUR) is a discipline which combines aspects of pharmacotherapy, epidemiology, and health services research into an interdisciplinary set of methods for analyzing and assessing the prescribing, dispensing and consumption of medicines.
Contributing UMCG author: Job van Boven

Leerboek intensivecare-verpleegkunde

Deel 1 van het tweedelig leerboek
Dit leerboek wordt gebruikt in de opleiding tot intensivecare-verpleegkundige in Nederland en België en in opleidingen met een overeenkomstig karakter. Daarnaast is het een actueel naslagwerk voor de intensivecare-verpleegkundige in de praktijk.
UMCG author chapter: Blokzijl, Fredrike

Rare and Complex Urology

Rare and Complex Urology combines information on clinical aspects, network developments and patient journeys in specific rare and complex urological diseases within the ERN (European Reference Network) template structure, allowing for better diagnosis, treatment and patient outcome.
UMCG author chapter: Johan Nijman

Textbook of Obstetrics and Gynaecology - 2nd ed.

Print Book & E-book (ordered)
Updated textbook for medical and midwifery students.
Life course approach is leading.
Focus on lifestyle, prevention and social context

UMCG author chapter: Astrid Cantineau

Keuzegids screening & diagnostiek VB

Printed book & e-book
Definitie, inventarisatie, eigenschappen, vergelijking van instrumenten voor screening en diagnostiek van het intellectueel en adaptief functioneren bij mensen met verstandelijke beperkingen.
UMCG author: Alain Dekker

Expert life support : Handboek voor professionals werkzaam in de acute zorg

IN BESTELLING / ON ORDER
Dit boek is geschreven voor iedereen die werkt in de acute zorg, op de SEH, op de OK, op de IC of prehospitaal. Het is een evicence-based handboek waarin je alle informatie bij elkaar vindt voor de behandeling van de meest acuut zieke patiënten.
UMCG author: Ewoud ter Avest

Dry Eye Disease

Clinically-oriented and up-to-date, Dry Eye Diseases focuses on the latest diagnostic techniques, management guidelines, and treatment options for dry eye disorders. This consolidated resource provides guidance on the clinical assessment of patients presenting with dry eye symptoms as well as a global perspectives on the use of FDA and off-label products.
UMCG author chapter: Jelle Vehof

Molar Incisor Hypomineralisation: New Perceptions

IN BESTELLING / ON ORDER
The book comprehensively discusses Molar Incisor Hypomineralisation (MIH), exploring whether it is a recent phenomenon or a newly recognized issue.
UMCG author chapter: D. Matnon

Encyclopedia of Respiratory Medicine

IN BESTELLING / ON ORDER

Explores the key processes of lung diseases and their diagnosis and management. The book dissects the molecular and cellular biology, physiology and immunology that underpin normal lung function, along with the aberrations that occur in respiratory diseases, from common disorders such as asthma and COPD to rarer lung diseases such as cystic fibrosis, interstitial lung disease.

UMCG authors chapter: J. Burgess / R. Gosens

Regenerative Medicine in the Genitourinary System

This book gives the reader a comprehensive overview of tissue engineering used to treat genitourinary disorders and infertility, also providing a great learning platform for researchers in different fields such as cell biology, pharmaceutics, clinicians, chemists, material scientists, and more.
UMCG author chapter: M. Shahbazi

Junqueira's Functionele Histologie

Dit boek geeft een gedetailleerde beschrijving van de microscopische structuur van het menselijk lichaam. Het is een leerboek en een naslagwerk, voor professionals en studenten in de geneeskunde, tandheelkunde, biomedische wetenschappen, biologie, biotechnologie en diergeneeskunde, en de paramedische beroepsopleidingen.
Co-editor UMCG: JL Hillebrands

Advances in Health and Disease. Volume 64

IN BESTELLING / ON ORDER
This book is comprised of twelve selected chapters on advances in health and disease.
UMCG author: Pradhana, Adinda Putra

The Routledge international handbook of changes in human perceptions and behaviors

This book presents multidisciplinary perspectives on various aspects of changes that humans experience. The handbook is designed to highlight the different contents, types, ways, meanings, applications, and moments of changes that have been recognized by experts in various fields within the life and social sciences.
UMCG author: Helmich, Maria Agatha

Clinical Applications of Artificial Intelligence in Real-World Data

This book is a thorough and comprehensive guide to the use of modern data science within health care. Critical to this is the use of big data and its analytical potential to obtain clinical insight into issues that would otherwise have been missed and is central to the application of artificial intelligence. It therefore has numerous uses from diagnosis to treatment.
UMCG authors: Benjamins, Jan // Juarez Orozco, Luis // van der Harst, Pim // Yeung, Ming

Clinical Neuroembryology

This book provides a comprehensive overview of the development of the human central nervous system (CNS) in the context of its many developmental disorders due to genetic, environmental and hypoxic/ischaemic causes.
UMCG author: den Dunnen, Willem

Mental Health in Sport and Physical Activity

Bringing together the most prestigious writings on mental health in sport and physical activity from the International Society of Sport Psychology's flagship journal, International Journal of Sport and Exercise Psychology, this volume provides an essential reference volume for the field of sport and exercise psychology
UMCG author: Hortobagyi, Tibor

Epigenome Editing

IN BESTELLING / ON ORDER
This second volume details new and updated methods covering applications of epigenome editing. Chapters guide readers through general and topical reviews, DNA-binding devices, optimization of the effector domains, readout of epigenome marks, and approaches for delivery at the cellular and organismal level.
Contributing UMCG authors: Roos Eilers, Mihály Koncz, Marianne Rots, [et al.]

Multimodality Imaging and Intervention in Oncology

This book provides the reader with a focused review of multimodality imaging strategies (radiology and molecular imaging) in staging and re-staging the major types of cancer (i.e. thyroid, breast, colon-rectum, lung, prostate, pancreas, liver, head and neck, and hematological cancer), including rare neoplasms.
UMCG authors: Erba, Paola // Noordzij, Walter // Veenstra, Emile

Cardiovascular Applications of Stem Cells

The book covers multifarious aspects of stem cell-based therapy for cardiovascular diseases. In addition to stem cells from different sources for cell-based therapy, it covers stem cell organoids and stem cell-derived exosomes in regenerative medicine.
UMCG author: Dobrolinska, Magdalena

Klachten na kanker

Een groeiende groep patiënten geneest na de diagnose kanker, maar zij kunnen er klachten aan overhouden, zoals neuropathie, angst, vragen overwerk, seks en zingeving. Patiënten leggen zelf lang niet altijd zelf het verband met hun eerdere diagnose. Dit boek behandelt de klachten waarmee deze patiënten zich presenteren. Het biedt zorgverleners in de eerste lijn informatie, casuïstiek en praktische handvatten.
Bijdragen van UMCG-auteurs: Daan Brandenbarg, Mariken Stegmann, Jantina van der Velde, Wouter van Geffen

Arts in Health in Nederland: Een nationale agenda

Arts in health verwijst naar het veld dat artistieke en creatieve praktijken toepast om gezondheid en welzijn te bevorderen en een positieve benadering van gezondheid te stimuleren.
Contributing UMCG authors: Hanneke van der Wal-Huisman, Barbara van Leeuwen, Evelyn Finnema, Nina van den Berg

Klinische neuropsychologie

Dit boek is relevant voor zowel klinische research als praktische werkzaamheden, zoals de diagnostiek, begeleiding en behandeling van mensen met hersenaandoeningen of hersenletsel.

Contributing UMCG authors: Sarah Khosdelazad, Anouk van der Hoorn

Advanced Technologies and Polymer Materials for Surgical

This book is a useful resource for academics and researchers in the materials science and biomedical engineering fields, as well as professionals in biomaterials and biotextiles development and clinicians looking to learn more about suture material properties and suture/body interactions.
Contrib. UMCG author: M A Shahbazi