Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Key resource for current newspapers
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni offers full-text articles from Dutch and foreign newspapers. Text only, no photos, charts or illustrations. Articles by freelance journalists are not always included. For many newspapers the coverage extends back to the 1990's.
The New York Times
The New York Times
Online access to The New York Times articles from 1851-1922 and from 1980 to the present. Create your account on campus using your UG mail address
Key resources for historic U.S. newspapers
Historical newspapers freely available on the internet:
Web portals to historic newspapers
Finding American newspapers
Identify a U.S. newspaper from a place and time
The Library of Congress's web site, Chronicling America has a search engine that will identify United States newspapers that were available in a particular place and time. Connect to the Newspaper Directory.
Reference works on news media
Audiovisual media archives
Internet Archive - TV News This link opens in a new window
the Internet Archive collects and preserves television news. The collection contains news programs collected from 2009 onwards from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired. Use the index of searchable text and watch short, streamed clips.
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Independent Voices is an open access collection of American alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.
Questions? Ask the experts: