Library Guides/ Middle East Studies

Encyclopedic Reference Middle East

The New Cambridge History of Islam This link opens in a new window
Vol. 6, Muslims and modernity : culture and society since 1800.
Publication Date: 2010
The Cambridge History of Turkey This link opens in a new window
Vol. 4, Turkey in the modern world
Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopaedia Iranica This link opens in a new window
The past and present culture of the Iranian peoples.
Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an This link opens in a new window
Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an (6 vols.)
Publication Date: 2006
Historical dictionary of the Arab-Israeli conflict / P.R. Kumaraswamy This link opens in a new window
Publication Date: 2006
Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World (EJIW) This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World (EJIW) covers the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods.
The expanded online version, EJIW Online (started in 2010), is updated twice annually with newly commissioned articles, illustrations, multimedia, and primary source material.
The Cambridge History of Egypt This link opens in a new window
Modern Egypt (vol. 2): from 1517 to the end of the 20th century
Publication Date: 1998

Cambridge Histories Online This link opens in a new window
This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series. With access to the most up to date and authoritative scholarly content, Cambridge Histories Online is an invaluable resource, for undergraduates, graduates, lecturers and researchers alike. All the available volumes are grouped into topics, making it quick and easy to search and browse through an array of historical subject areas.
CHO is a digital collection of 250+ titles published since 1960 as part of the Cambridge Histories series. The collection presents an authoritative reference compendium for histories of many countries (e.g. Britain, Europe, US, Middle East, Far East, Latin America).
CIA World Factbook This link opens in a new window
The World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Our Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries and introductory reference works in all fields
UNDP: Country Profiles and Human Development Indicators This link opens in a new window