Welcome to the Middle East Studies LibGuide. This guide covers a set of high-quality resources of the subject of Middle Eastern Studies that can be a good starting point for your research.
- Oxford Dictionary English-Hebrew This link opens in a new window1996
Encyclopedic Reference Middle East
- Encyclopaedia of Islam This link opens in a new window3rd Edition. Sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World from religion and history to politics and culture.
- The New Cambridge History of Islam This link opens in a new windowVol. 6, Muslims and modernity : culture and society since 1800.
Publication Date: 2010
- Encyclopaedia Judaica This link opens in a new windowMultimedia encyclopedia of Judaism, 2nd edition.
Publication Date: 2007
- Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World This link opens in a new windowIslam in the context of the religion's history and role in the modern world
- The Cambridge history of Islam This link opens in a new windowPublication Date: 1977
- A companion to the history of the Middle East / edited by Youssef M. Choueiri. 2005. This link opens in a new window
- More Encyclopedic Reference This link opens in a new window
Key Bibliographic Resources
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new windowFull-text database of major religious and theology journals. (1949 to present).
- Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new windowContains the full-text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other theory and research resources in international affairs.
(1991 to present)
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new windowDatabase of journal articles and dissertations on world history from 1450 to present excluding the United States and Canada.
- Modern Language Association bibliography This link opens in a new window
- RAMBI - Index of Articles on Jewish Studies This link opens in a new windowA selective bibliography of articles in the various fields of Jewish studies and in the study of Eretz Israel. Material listed in Rambi is compiled from thousands of periodicals and from collections of articles - in Hebrew, Yiddish, and European languages- mainly from the holdings of the Jewish National and University Library, a world center for research on the Jewish people and Eretz Israel.
Other bibliographic reference and electronic journals databases
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary bibliographic and full-text database
- Annual Reviews This link opens in a new windowOverview articles in biomedical, physical and social sciences
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new windowAs part of Web of Science. A&HCI covers 1975-present.
Access the world’s leading scholarly literature in the social sciences, arts, and humanities and examine proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowFull-text archival access to hundreds of scholarly journals.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowA continuously updated full-text database of nearly 6000 sources that are useful for researching company and business topics, legal information, and current news and events.
- Periodical Archive Online This link opens in a new windowAchival issues of hundreds of journals in the humanities and social sciences. Covers many journals from their very beginning, until 1995.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new windowFull-text periodicals (humanities and social sciences).
Middle East News
- BBC Middle East News This link opens in a new window
United Nations - Middle East
Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowFor direct access to full text documents:
Click on Settings - Library links : choose University of Groningen options + Open Worldcat (if not shown, type 'Groningen'). Links to full text (if available) will be shown in your search results.
Citing a publication found in Google Scholar?
Click on Settings - Search result - Bibliography manager, choose e.g. RefWorks
Google Books This link opens in a new window
- A Concise History of the Middle East byISBN: 9780813349626Publication Date: 2016
- Egypt on the Brink : From Nasser to the Muslim Brotherhood byISBN: 9780300203707Publication Date: 2013
- A History of Israel byCall Number: Arts Collection 60.MO 5.02 H03ISBN: 0333676327Publication Date: 2003
- A History of the Modern Middle East byCall Number: 68B 4341ISBN: 0813348331Publication Date: 2012
- An Introduction to the Modern Middle East byISBN: 9780813349237Publication Date: 2014
- The Levant in Turmoil byISBN: 9781137526021Publication Date: 2016
- Routledge Handbook of the Israeli-Palestinian Conflict byISBN: 9780415778626Publication Date: 2012
- Salafi-Jihadism byCall Number: Arts Collection 60.MO 5.02 M225ISBN: 9780190651121Publication Date: 2016
- The Terror Years: from al-Qaeda to the Islamic State byCall Number: Arts Collection 60.MO 5.02 M224ISBN: 9780385352055Publication Date: 2016
Which eBooks are available for the subject of the Middle East? Restrict this set with title or keywords "Middle East", or "Arabic", "Israel", "Egypt" etc.
- Browse by subject This link opens in a new windowAlphabetical overview per subject. Around 80 different medical categories.
- EBSCO-ebooks on Middle East This link opens in a new window
These language courses are used for Middle East studies.
- Kallimni 'Arabi (5 levels) (with DVDs & CDs) byCall Number: Arts collection 12.042 H23-27ISBN: 9774249771Publication Date: 2007-2009
- Al-Kitaab Fii Ta'Allum Al-'Arabiyya byISBN: 9781589011045Publication Date: 2004
- Alif Baa : introduction to Arabic letters and sounds byCall Number: Arts Collection 12.042 H21ISBN: 9781589016323Publication Date: 2010
- Answer Key for Alif Baa byISBN: 9781589016347Publication Date: 2010
- Hebrew from scratch byPublication Date: 2001
Library tour video UL Groningen
Questions? Ask the experts:
Subjects: Faculty of Arts