- Library
- LibGuides
- Historical Sources
- Historical sources for Medieval History
Introduction
In this chapter an overview of important electronic and printed historical sources for Medieval History is presented. The University Library of Groningen owns a collection of printed sources held in the closed stacks or on the open shelves in the reading rooms. Another part of the collection of historical sources is available online.
Medieval sources published in print
Historical sources for Medieval History can be found in various places in the Library.
- In the Sources Reading Room on the second floor, with call number UALG 965R. See below for some important titles.
Other locations for historical sources for Medieval History in the Library:
- In the Arts Collection on the second floor. In the History section, section 60 medieval historical sources are arranged by call number 60.ABC 2.0n L. ABC stands for the country code; 2.0x stands for medieval history and .01 - .11 is the subject code. Capital letter L is the publication type,meaning a source published in print.
- In the Arts Collection in section 33.090 Regional History, and in section 34.090 Friesian History historical sources can be found. Here as well 2.0n stands for medieval sources.
Source types and source heuristics: introductory works (Medieval historical sources)
- - L'atelier du médiéviste. Turnhout, 1994- .Includes volumes about specific types of sources, but also about auxiliary sciences of history and historical languages.
An example: Fossier, Robert. L'histoire économique et sociale du Moyen âge occidental. Questions, sources, documents commentés. L'atelier du médiéviste 6 (Turnhout: Brepols, 1999). - - Genicot, Léopold. Typologie des sources du Moyen Âge occidental. Turnhout, 1972- .Now up to nearly 90 volumes, including 2 index volumes.
- - Goetz, Hans-Werner. Proseminar Geschichte : Mittelalter. Stuttgart, 2014.ISBN: 9783825240660
Other medieval databases
- Medieval Memoria Online (MeMO)Medieval Memoria Online provides a database that is accessible free of charge for researchers, students and anyone with a general interest in Dutch cultural heritage. It contains inventories and descriptions of objects and texts that had a function in the commemoration of the dead in the area that is currently the Netherlands, until 1580.
About sources for historians
- Boone, Marc. Historici en hun métier. Gent, 2007.ISBN: 9789038211190
- Claus, Peter and John Marriot. History. New York, 2014.ISBN: 9781317866091
- Jordanova, Ludmilla. The Look of the Past. Cambridge, 2012.ISBN: 9780521882422
Source types and source heuristics: for narrative sources
- - Deploige, Jeroen. Narritive sources : user's guide = gebruikersgids = guide de l'utilisateur. Leuven, 2003.Includes web page: http://www.narrative-sources.be.
For the Netherlands, this is an adaptation and a bringing up-to-date of Carasso-Kok. The site is supported by the University of Ghent and the latest version on internet dates from 2014. It provides access to manuscripts, editions, translations of sources as well as studies about these sources. The search interface allows for searching by period, region and language.
Access to all preserved manuscripts, editions, translations and studies with search posibilities among other things on period, region and language. 
- Dunphy, Graeme, ed. Encyclopedia of the Medieval Chronicle. 2010.ISBN: 9789004184640
Bronnenreeksen met vertaling: Middeleeuwen
- Please note!Apart from these source collections which came about due to government subsidies, there are also source editions or translations published by organisations (research institutes, universities, monastic orders) and individuals. Many Dutch narrative sources are published in translation by Uitgeverij Verloren in Hilversum (previously Amsterdam).
Electronic source collections
- Acta SanctorumStandard work on holy lives (full text), plus Hagiographica Bibliotheca Latina.
- Patrologia Latina DatabaseAll works of the Church Fathers (from 200 to 1216), published by Jacques Paul Migne.
Source series: Middle Ages
- - BroncommentarenIncludes commentaries on medieval sources.
- - Collection de chroniques Belges inédites et de documents inédits relatifs à l'histoire de la Belgique = Verzameling van onuitgegeven Belgische kronieken en van onuitgegeven documenten betreffende de geschiedenis van België. 1870- .Publication of the Koninklijke Academie van België te Brussel (Royal Academy of Belgium at Brussels).
- - Monumenta Germaniae HistoriaHistorical sources of European history (especially Germany) (500 - 1500)
Initiative by Freiherr vom Stein, with Pertz and Böhmer as early leaders; subdivided into sub series: SS=Scriptores, DD=Diplomata, LL= Leges etc. From1996 also electronically available. - - Public Record OfficeParts of this series are electronically available now. See SmartCat.
- - Repertorium fontium historiae Medii Aevi / I, Series collectionum. 1962.An overview of all major source collections with a table of contents for the various parts:
- Series collectionum 1962
- Additamenta (Potthast) 1962-1972 - - Rerum brittannicarum medii ævi scriptoresRolls series, 1858-1896
- - Rijks Geschiedkundige Publicatiën (RGP)Publication of the Instituut voor Nederlandse Geschiedenis te Den Haag; Grote en Kleine Serie. Electronic versions are currently becoming available at website of the Huygens ING.
- - Verslagen en Mededeelingen der Vereeniging (na 1976 Stichting) tot uitgaaf der bronnen van het oud-vaderlandseMinor sources and studies, not appearing regularly.
Partly available electronically.
As of 1999 the Stichting OVR has made this into a journal under Flemish-Dutch editorship entitled : Pro Memorie. Bijdragen tot de rechtsgeschiedenis der Nederlanden. - - Werken der Stichting tot Uitgaaf der Bronnen van het Oud-Vaderlandse Recht. 1880- .A series of major sources or collections of relevant sources; especiallyso called "keurboeken". Partly available in online.
- Please note!Apart from these source collections which came about with the help of government subsidies, there are also source editions or translations published by organisations (research institutes, universities, monastic orders) and individuals. Many Dutch narrative sources are published in translation by Uitgeverij Verloren in Hilversum (previously Amsterdam).
{{subjectTitle}}
{{subjectGuides}}
Questions? Ask the experts:
Subjects: Faculty of Arts