Welcome
This guide covers a set of high-quality sources of information for Russian language, culture and society that can be a good starting point for your research.
Related guides
- History This link opens in a new window
- Linguistics This link opens in a new window
Smartcat
Bibliographies
- EBSEES This link opens in a new windowEuropean Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (1991-2007)
- Central and Eastern European Online Library (CEEOL) This link opens in a new windowFull-text journals from and about Central and Eastern Europe
- MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new windowThe international bibliography produced by the Modern Language Association offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations on literature, language, linguistics and folklore.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowBibliography containing references and abstracts on language and linguistics
General bibliographies
- Web of Science core collection This link opens in a new windowSearch the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowCovers a large part of the English-language literature in science, medicine and parts of the social sciences and arts and humanities.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new windowMultidisciplinary bibliographic and full-text database
Dictionaries
Reference
- Ethnologue : Languages of the world This link opens in a new windowResource on the more than 7100 languages spoken in the world.
- World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) This link opens in a new windowDatabase of linguistic properties of languages world-wide.
- Oxford Bibliographies Online, Linguistics This link opens in a new windowResearch guide for linguistics, combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and an encyclopedia
Handbooks
Journals
- Journals in SmartCatJournals about Russia(n) or Slavic languages and countries. The results will include journals from other disciplines like, for instance, 'Russian studies in philosophy'.
- Russian and Eastern European HistoryRead journals organized by subject on Browzine.com or in the Browzine app.
- Russian, Eastern European and Slavic StudiesRead journals organized by subject on Browzine.com or in the Browzine app.
News
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowDutch and foreign newspapers and other sources for news and journalism.
- Newspaper guide Library of CongressThis guide to Russian newspapers in the Library of Congress has a section for Freely Available Digital Newspapers and Resources, containing both current and historical titles.The section provides links to selected portals and digital collections. In addition, a link to freely available digital editions is provided in the entries for individual newspapers if one was located.
Films
The library has a large collection of films on DVD. Click on the link to see all the Russian films available. (The list may contain films in other languages if the DVD has subtitles in Russian).
- Russian films This link opens in a new window
Socialism on film
- Socialism on film This link opens in a new windowThis collection of films from the communist world reveals war, history, current affairs, culture and society as seen through the socialist lens. It spans most of the twentieth century and covers countries such as the USSR, Vietnam, China, Korea, much of Eastern Europe, the GDR, Britain and Cuba. The films are selected from the archives of the BFI.
Google Scholar
{{subjectTitle}}
{{subjectGuides}}
Questions? Ask the experts:
Subjects: Faculty of Arts