Library Guides/ Economics and Business

Welcome

This guide covers a set of high-quality sources of Economics and Business that can be a good starting point for your research.

First choice database is Econlit

EconLit This link opens in a new window
Econlit (Economic Literature Index) is the international bibliographical database for economists. Focuses on literature in the field of theoretical and applied economics. By the American Economic Association
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals, as well as international proceedings. With cited reference searching.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
MathsciNet This link opens in a new window
Mathematical Reviews on the web

First choice database is Business Source Premier

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Bibliographical and full-text database on business, management & finance
Emerald This link opens in a new window
Journals in the field of management & organization
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals, as well as international proceedings. With cited reference searching.

Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford UP handbooks on a wide range of subjects across the humanities, social sciences, sciences, and law.
Springer e-books This link opens in a new window
All available Springer e-books, including Bohn Stafleu Van Loghum
EBSCO eBook Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's 126.000 e-books from many publishers
SAGE Full-Text Collections This link opens in a new window
Full-text journals from publisher Sage

If you need help searching for academic literature, and how to use it, please visit:

EconStor This link opens in a new window
Open Access repository for publications in the fields of Economics and Business by ZBW - German Library of Economics.
LeibnizOpen This link opens in a new window
Aggregated (7 institutions) Open Access repository for research output by the Leibniz research community , including Economics.
NBER Working Papers This link opens in a new window
Working papers from economists of the National Bureau of economic research (NBER)
RePEc / IDEAS This link opens in a new window
Research Papers in Economics: worldwide archives of working papers in economics
SSRN - Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
SSRN consists of research communities organized round subjects like Economics or Leadership. Research output is disseminated by SSRN.
SSOAR - Social Science Open Access Repository This link opens in a new window
Open access (green road) repository for the social sciences, including Economics.

Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window Dutch and foreign newspapers and other sources for news and journalism.

The New York Times You will be able to create an account using the above link, while you are connected to the University network.
Financial Times You will be able to create an account using the link, while you are connected to the University network.
Het Financieele Dagblad You can create an account using your RuG e-mail.
The Economist (via Gale Publishing) Database access to all Economist issues starting 1988 up to the latest issue. Via the smartcat link go to 'Online access' and choose the top link.

Sage Research Methods Online Online research tool on research methods and research execution. Also info on how to combine different applications, the set up of research projects and data intepretation. Included are the in the Social Sciences well known Little Green Books en Little Blue Book.

Van Dale Online This link opens in a new window Dictionaries in Dutch and other European languages
New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics This link opens in a new window Economics reference resource (2nd ed., eds. Durlauf & Blume)
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window Dictionaries and introductory reference works in all fields (extended edition)
SAGE eReference This link opens in a new window Portal over dozens of online encyclopedias by SAGE