Welcome
This guide covers a set of high-quality sources of information for English language and culture. This is the starting point for your research.
Bibliographies on English language and literature
- Drama Online - RSC Live Collection This link opens in a new windowFeatures 26 videos of Shakespeare's plays performed live by the Royal Shakespeare Company
- Shakespeare's Globe on Screen This link opens in a new window30 plays recorded live on the Globe stage from leading actors and directors.
- Linguistic Bibliography Online This link opens in a new windowBibliography for linguistics focusing on the lesser known and extinct languages
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new windowBibliography containing references and abstracts on language and linguistics
- MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association) This link opens in a new windowOnline bibliography on language and literature
- Oxford Bibliographies Online This link opens in a new windowDeveloped cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides
- Oxford Scholarly Editions OnlineAuthoritative poetry, drama and fiction texts from Classical Antiquity and all periods of English literature
- The Year's Work in English Studies This link opens in a new windowNarrative bibliographical review of scholarly work on English language and literature
General bibliographies
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- Web of Science (incl. Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)) This link opens in a new window
Reference works
- Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics This link opens in a new windowThe prime online encyclopedia on language and language behavior
- Ethnologue : Languages of the world This link opens in a new windowResource on the more than 7100 languages spoken in the world.
- Literary Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
- Middle English Compendium This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowDictionaries and introductory reference works in all fields (extended edition)
- Sage eReference This link opens in a new window
Dictionaries
- Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED) This link opens in a new windowHistorical dictionary of the English language
- Van Dale Dictionaries This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Bilingual dictionaries from and into Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish and Swedish, and the 'Dikke Van Dale' (Dutch dictionary).
Online dictionaries of Van Dale can also be accessed via smartphone or tablet, by means of the Van Dale App! Once the app has been downloaded, you can open the app and click on the Surfspot link on the bottom of the log in screen to log in with your UG account.
The New Partridge Dictionary of Slang and Unconventional English by ISBN: 9781315672229Publication Date: 2015Containing over 60,000 entries, this new edition of the authoritative work on slang details the slang and unconventional English of the English-speaking world since 1945, and through the first decade of the new millennium.
Take My Word for It by ISBN: 9781452968629Publication Date: 2023Liberman, Anatoly. Take My Word for It: A Dictionary of English Idioms. Minneapolis, MN: University of Minnesota Press, 2022.
Handbooks
The Anglo Saxon Literature Handbook by ISBN: 9781118286500Publication Date: 2014The Anglo-Saxon Literature Handbook presents an accessible introduction to the surviving works of prose and poetry produced in Anglo-Saxon England, from AD 410-1066.
The Cambridge Companion to Old English Literature (2nd Edition) by ISBN: 9780521193320Publication Date: 2013Provides a clear and accessible introduction for those encountering Old English literature for the first time. Including seventeen essays by distinguished scholars, this new edition provides a discussion of the literature of the period 600 to 1066 in the context of how Anglo-Saxon society functioned.
Handbook of British Romanticism by ISBN: 9783110376692Publication Date: 2017The Handbook of British Romanticism provides students with an introduction to Romantic literature in general and literary scholars with a discussion of innovative and groundbreaking theoretical developments.
A Handbook of English Renaissance Literary Studies by ISBN: 9781118458778Publication Date: 2017A Handbook of English Renaissance Literary Studies is a groundbreaking guide to the contemporary engagement with critical theory within the larger disciplinary area of Renaissance and Early Modern studies.
A Handbook of Middle English Studies by ISBN: 9781118328767Publication Date: 2013A Handbook of Middle English Studies presents twenty-six original and accessible essays by leading scholars, analyzing the relationship between critical theory and late-medieval literature.
The Oxford Handbook of Medieval Literature in English by ISBN: 9780191572593Publication Date: 2010The Oxford Handbook of Medieval Literature in English brings together the insights of new fields and approaches with those of more familiar texts and methods of study, to provide a comprehensive overview of the state of medieval literature today.
The Oxford Handbook of Milton by ISBN: 9780199697885Publication Date: 2011Four hundred years after his birth, John Milton remains one of the greatest and most controversial figures in English literature. The Oxford Handbook of Milton is a comprehensive guide to the state of Milton studies in the early twenty-first century, bringing together an international team of thirty-five leading scholars in one volume.
The Oxford Handbook of Shakespeare by ISBN: 9780191618123Publication Date: 2011The Oxford Handbook to Shakespeare contains forty specially written essays. It provides fresh and imaginative readings of his plays and poems, reflects on the current state of Shakespeare Studies, and suggests the likely future directions it will take.
The Oxford Handbook of the Victorian Novel by ISBN: 9780191652516Publication Date: 2013Much has been written about the Victorian novel, and for good reason. The cultural power it exerted is beyond question. The Oxford Handbook of the Victorian Novel contributes substantially to this thriving scholarly field by offering new approaches to familiar topics as well as essays on topics often overlooked.
The Oxford Handbook of Tudor Literature by ISBN: 9780199697892Publication Date: 2009This is the first major collection of essays to look at the literature of the entire Tudor period, from the reign of Henry VII to the death of Elizabeth I. It pays particular attention to the years before 1580.
The Routledge Handbook of English As a Lingua Franca by ISBN: 9781317509196Publication Date: 2018The Routledge Handbook of English as a Lingua Franca (ELF) provides an accessible, authoritative and comprehensive introduction to the main theories, concepts, contexts and applications of this rapidly developing field of study.
The Oxford Handbook of Samuel Taylor Coleridge by ISBN: 9780199644179Publication Date: 2012A practical and comprehensive reference work, the Oxford Handbook provides the best single-volume source of original scholarship on all aspects of Coleridge's diverse writings.
A Companion to Old and Middle English Literature by ISBN: 9780313011115Publication Date: 2002Old and Middle English literature can be obscure and challenging. This reference is a comprehensive overview of Old and Middle English literature. Chapters focus on particular genres and provide extensive reviews of scholarship and close with detailed bibliographies
The Cambridge Companion to English Literature, 1740-1830 by ISBN: 9780511999246Publication Date: 2004This 2004 volume offers an introduction to British literature that challenges the traditional divide between eighteenth-century and Romantic studies. Contributors explore the development of literary genres and modes through a period of rapid change.
The Cambridge Companion to English Literature, 1830-1914 by ISBN: 9781139002806Publication Date: 2010The nineteenth century witnessed unprecedented expansion in the reading public and an explosive growth in the number of books and newspapers produced to meet its demands. These specially commissioned essays examine not only the full range and variety of texts that entertained and informed the Victorians, but also the boundaries of Victorian literature.
Collections e-journals
- Cambridge journals online This link opens in a new window
- DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) This link opens in a new window
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- Oxford University Press journals This link opens in a new window
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- Sage Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- Taylor and Francis Journals This link opens in a new window
Journals in the field of English literature held at the RUG
Book Reviews
- New York Review of Books This link opens in a new windowFull text from volume I issue I (February 1963)
Other relevant Library Guides
{{subjectTitle}}
{{subjectGuides}}
Questions? Ask the experts:
Subjects: Faculty of Arts