Most used biomedical resources for searching articles

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Biomedical journal articles
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
Biomedical journal articles
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Systematic reviews and controlled trials
UpToDate This link opens in a new window
Clinical decision support information
Clinical information resource to answer clinical questions quickly and easily at the point of care

Other biomedical databases

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Systematic reviews and controlled trials
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Articles on psychology and psychiatry
PsycInfo is the leading international bibliographical database with references for psychology and adjacent fields
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals, as well as international proceedings. With cited reference searching.

Always open PubMed through the CMB website!
This is important because only then will you see a red Get it! button next to all the articles.

Click 'Get it!' to go to the PDF
When you have found an article, click on 'Get it!' to see if the library has access. There are two options:

The article is available
If the item is in our collection, the 'Get it!' button will take you directly to the full text (PDF) of the article.
The article is not available: request it!
If we don't have the article in our collection, 'Get it!' will take you to an intermediate screen where you can request the article from another library.
UMCG employees can request for free at libraries worldwide, students only within the Netherlands.

Systematic Review
Check out our comprehensive guide to article search for a systematic review
CAT Guide
Learn how to do a Critical Appraisal of a Topic (CAT)