Kinderorthopedie voor de huisarts

Huisartsen krijgen geregeld vragen op het spreekuur over klachten van het bewegingsapparaat bij kinderen. Zoals vragen over de stand van de benen en voeten of de manier van lopen. De fysiologische range is breed. Maar wanneer is er toch iets meer aan de hand met een x-been? En kun je met volle overtuiging ouders geruststellen dat het wel goed komt met die platvoeten?

Hoe krijgen we onze zorg passend?

De zorg loopt vast. Het personeelstekort loopt op en we vragen steeds vaker om zorg. Tegelijkertijd weten we van veel behandelingen niet of deze werken. We leveren zelfs zorg waarvan we weten dat deze niet werkt of – in het ergste geval – schade veroorzaakt. Bovendien levert de zorg een grote bijdrage aan de CO2-uitstoot. Reden voor Tijn Kool, hoogleraar Passende Zorg aan het Radboudumc, om te pleiten voor een andere kijk op gezondheid en ziekte.

De vijf kwaliteitsuitdagingen van zorgorganisaties

Dit boek helpt om van zorgorganisaties duurzame, hoog presterende instellingen te maken. Het beschrijft de vijf belangrijkste kwaliteitsuitdagingen voor zorgorganisaties, én het geeft een schat aan direct toepasbare oplossingen. Het boek richt zich primair op bestuurders, managers en kwaliteitsfunctionarissen.

Digitale transformatie bij een zorginstelling.

Dit boek legt uit hoe digitalisering kan helpen de uitdagingen in de zorg op te lossen. Bijvoorbeeld in het terugdringen van personeelstekorten of de zorgkosten. Daarom besteedt dit boek veel aandacht aan strategie en praktische vraagstukken, en de complexe context waarin een zorginstelling zich bevindt: Een krachtenveld van toezichthouders, financiers, vaak verschillende regionale indelingen en soms dominante commerciële partijen.

Schematherapie bij ouderen met persoonlijkheidsproblematiek

Dit boek laat zien hoe je schematherapie kunt toepassen bij ouderen met persoonlijkheidsproblematiek. Het kan gebruikt worden voor zowel individuele als groepstherapie. Het boek biedt veel praktische handvatten, voor zowel de ggz als het verpleeghuis.

Handleiding schematherapie voor ouders en het jonge kind

Dit boek helpt therapeuten stap voor stap gezinsgerichte schematherapie te geven. Het boek is primair bedoeld voor therapie bij ouders met jonge kinderen (0-5 jaar), maar de oefeningen in het boek kunnen net zo goed toegepast worden bij ouders van oudere kinderen in andere ontwikkelingsfasen. Deze behandelmethode is zowel toepasbaar bij groepstherapie als individuele therapie.

Preventie en behandeling van angststoornissen bij kinderen en jongeren

Dit boek is een praktische gids voor het voorkomen en behandelen van angststoornissen bij kinderen en jongeren van 8 t/m 18 jaar. Het beschrijft hoe deze stoornissen kunnen ontstaan, waarom ze niet spontaan overgaan, het belang van vroegsignalering en preventie, en hoe ze door middel van cognitieve gedragstherapie behandeld kunnen worden.

Traumasensitief opvoeden en begeleiden : een training voor opvoeders - handleiding voor trainers

Deze training helpt (pleeg)ouders en professionals om het gedrag, de emoties en reacties van getraumatiseerde kinderen én die van henzelf beter te begrijpen. Hierdoor kunnen ze een meer stabiele en positieve relatie ontwikkelen met de kinderen waar ze voor zorgen. Een traumasensitieve aanpak verkleint het risico op een (nieuwe) uit(huis)plaatsing van getraumatiseerde kinderen en leidt tot grotere tevredenheid en minder stress bij opvoeders en professionals.

Traumasensitief opvoeden en begeleiden: een training voor opvoeders - Werkboek voor deelnemers

Dit werkboek is onderdeel van de training Traumasensitief opvoeden en begeleiden. In acht modules vergroot je je kennis en begrip over de impact van traumatische ervaringen en toxische stress op het leven, gedrag en de ontwikkeling van een kind.

Emotieregulatie bij kinderen en adolescenten in de praktijk

Dit boek k beschrijft de meest recente inzichten met betrekking tot emotieregulatie. Het laat zien waarom kinderen en adolescenten moeite kunnen hebben om emoties te reguleren en hoe zich dit kan uiten. Sommige kinderen reageren agressief, anderen gaan erover piekeren, terwijl weer andere kinderen ze proberen te vermijden door overmatig te eten of te gamen. Dit wordt geïllustreerd aan de hand van voorbeelden uit diverse klinische groepen (jongeren met angst, depressie, burn-out, eetstoornissen, obesitas, verslaving of gedragsproblemen).

AI and authorship in scholarly communication : writing with intelligence

Bringing together research on AI and writing from the scholarly literature in LIS and beyond, the book weaves together information about essential topics relating to AI and authorship.

Becoming and Being a Physician : A Developmental Journey.

What does "I am a doctor" mean currently? Structured around personal stories, this book provides a rigorous review of current thinking and research on the physician's life cycle. The book considers the trajectories and factors that influence a doctor's development over decades of a medical career. T

Doc or Quack

From pharmaceutical companies to acupuncture, an essential investigation of the constantly evolving relationship between mainstream Western medicine and quackery.   Reaching from the beginnings of scientific medicine in the nineteenth century through to the present, Sander L. Gilman examines the ever-shifting boundary between scientific medicine and quackery.

Composite Veneers: The Direct-Indirect Technique

"The book discusses the many applications of the direct-indirect technique using composites, including prepless contact lenses and veneers, veneers with preparation (discolored teeth), fragments, diastema closure, and noncarious cervical lesions, and offers step-by-step protocols for each"--

Hormone Balance for Dummies

In Hormone Balance For Dummies, renowned hormone health coach Isabella Mainwaring delivers an accessible and exciting new take on hormonal imbalance. You'll discover why hormone balance is so important for you and contributes to everything from the maintenance of a healthy weight to fertility, mental wellness, and overall health.

Video atlas of neuromusculoskeletal ultrasound

This video atlas is an essential resource for clinicians, residents, and students looking to integrate neuromusculoskeletal ultrasound into their practice.

Sectional anatomy by MRI and CT

This book provides exactly the information needed in a highly illustrated, quick-reference format. New coverage of the cervical spine, brain, and thumb, as well as new on/off labels in the eBook version make this title an essential diagnostic tool for both residents and practicing radiologists.

Quick Draw Anatomy for Anaesthetists

Simple step-by-step diagrams which show you how to draw and understand the key anatomy anaesthetists need to know. First edition won first prize in Anaesthesia in the BMA Medical Book Awards 2019!

The hospital manager's guide to artificial intelligence : concepts, methods, and techniques

The book explores how readers can use artificial intelligence to optimize patient care, costs, revenue, and profits. It examines real-world applications and case studies and provides theoretical concepts together with examples in order to show the hospital manager how to avoid over-testing, over-treating, and over-resourcing, how to enhance the pathology and radiology departments, how to use the Internet of Surgical things together with virtual and augmented reality.

Essentials of nutrition in medicine and healthcare : a practical guide

Good nutrition is essential for health and the treatment of disease. This new handbook aims to provide students, doctors and healthcare professionals with essential information to apply medical nutrition theory in their everyday practice.

Building your academic research digital identity : a step-wise guide to cultivating your academic research career online

The purpose of this timely and stimulating book is to thoroughly prepare students, early researchers, and career scholars in establishing their digital identity online.

What Is Health?

What is health? What does health mean to people? How do we make sense of health and experience it? Health is complex, subjective and varied. Drawing on theory, research and contemporary debates, Ruth Cross explores the nature of health in depth and challenges our thinking about it.

Theoretical Basis of Occupational Therapy

The fourth edition of this popular student-friendly textbook provides a thorough and detailed exploration of the key theoretical approaches that inform occupational therapy in the 21st century. It provides a comprehensive overview of how occupation can be used therapeutically, and of both the determinants and consequences of occupation.

The Physical Therapist's Guide to Women's Pelvic, Perinatal, and Reproductive Health.

provides physical rehabilitation throughout the lifespan for women and focuses on pelvic, pregnancy, and reproductive conditions in women. This book combines scientific evidence and clinical experience to help inform practice. It includes the history and evolution of physical therapy in women's health to specific therapeutic practice.

The Complete Taping Handbook

This is the first book to cover all three types of taping: sports rigid tape, k-tape, and biomechanical tape. Taping can be used as an excellent companion to standard treatments and within sport. Each tape has its own unique function and action that can aid patients at different stages of recovery.

Leerboek gezondheidsrecht

Max. 3 gelijktijdige users
Dit boek geeft artsen en geneeskundestudenten duidelijkheid over juridische vraagstukken in de dagelijkse praktijk. Hoe is de relatie tussen arts en patiënt geregeld? Waarop komt het juridisch aan bij gedwongen opneming, levensbeëindiging of vermoedens van kindermishandeling? Deze en andere onderwerpen worden uitgebreid behandeld. Leerboek gezondheidsrecht is een helder en levendig boek, dankzij de beschrijving van concrete voorbeelden. 

Rosenberg's Molecular and Genetic Basis of Neurological and Psychiatric Disease, Seventh Edition, volume 1

Provides a comprehensive introduction and reference to the foundations and key practical aspects relevant to neurologic and psychiatric disease. This volume has been thoroughly revised and includes newly commissioned chapters on ethics, genetic counselling and genet therapy for the central nervous system disorders.

Rosenberg's Molecular and Genetic Basis of Neurological and Psychiatric Disease, 7th Edition, volume 2

Provides a comprehensive introduction and reference to the foundations and practical aspects relevant to the majority of neurologic and psychiatric disease. This updated volume focuses on degenerative disorders, movement disorders, neuro-oncology, neurocutaneous disorders, epilepsy, white matter diseases, neuropathies and neuronopathies, muscle and neuromuscular junction disorders, stroke, psychiatric disease, and a neurologic gene map.

Regenerative Medicine in the Genitourinary System

This book gives the reader a comprehensive overview of tissue engineering used to treat genitourinary disorders and infertility, also providing a great learning platform for researchers in different fields such as cell biology, pharmaceutics, clinicians, chemists, material scientists, and more.
UMCG author chapter: M. Shahbazi

Drug Utilization Research

Towards a better understanding of how medicines are used in society Drug Utilization Research (DUR) is a discipline which combines aspects of pharmacotherapy, epidemiology, and health services research into an interdisciplinary set of methods for analyzing and assessing the prescribing, dispensing and consumption of medicines.
UMCG author: Job van Boven

Kwaliteit en veiligheid in patiëntenzorg

Kwaliteit van zorg staat onder druk door veel vraag, complexiteit en hoge kosten. Het idee van 'passende zorg' helpt om deze problemen aan te pakken. Dit boek geeft inzicht in theorieën (hoofd), het stimuleert zelfreflectie (hart) en bevat praktische tips. 

Murray's Basic Medical Microbiology : Foundations and Cases.

This book provides a solid foundation in the principles of microbiology, preparing you not only for examinations but also for the transition to clinical application.

Dry Eye Disease

Clinically-oriented and up-to-date, Dry Eye Diseases focuses on the latest diagnostic techniques, management guidelines, and treatment options for dry eye disorders. This consolidated resource provides guidance on the clinical assessment of patients presenting with dry eye symptoms as well as a global perspectives on the use of FDA and off-label products.
UMCG author chapter: Jelle Vehof

Textbook of Obstetrics and Gynaecology - 2nd ed.

Print Book & E-book (ordered)
- Updated textbook for medical and midwifery students.
- Life course approach is leading.
- Focus on lifestyle, prevention and social context
<b>UMCG author chapter: Astrid Cantineau</b>

The Netter collection of medical illustrations. 3rd ed. 2024, volume 1-9

Integrates core concepts of anatomy, physiology, and other basic sciences with common clinical correlates across health, medical, and surgical disciplines.

1: Reproductive System; 2: Endocrine System; 3: Respiratory System; 4: Integumentary System; 5: Urinary System; 6 (3 parts): Musculoskeletal System; 7 (3 parts): Nervous System; 8: Cardiovascular System; 9 (3 parts): Digestive System 

Goed gezondheidsrecht : de maat van Legemaate

Dit liber amicorum bevat een verzameling van gezondheidsrechtelijke bijdragen van vakgenoten ter gelegenheid van het afscheid van Johan Legemaate als hoogleraar gezondheidsrecht aan het Amsterdam UMC en de UvA.

77 puntjes op de i : perfect Nederlands voor anderstaligen

Vraag je je weleens af waarom we 'fijn weekend' zeggen, maar 'fijne avond'? Heb je nog steeds problemen met de plaats van 'niet' in de zin? Weet je of de koffie op tafel 'ligt', 'staat' of 'zit'? En vind je 'er' ook zo'n lastig woordje? 77 puntjes op de i biedt een verzameling onderwerpen waar je als anderstalige moeite mee kunt hebben, zelfs als je het Nederlands al op een hoog niveau beheerst.

Cardiovascular outcomes research

This book provides clinicians with the information needed to effectively interpret the literature from observational and interventional cardiovascular outcomes studies.

Lekkere kletskoppen?!

Dit is een kinderboek voor en over kinderen met selectief mutisme. Zij kunnen dit boek zelfstandig lezen en eruit halen wat hen aanspreekt, maar het is ook geschikt om samen met een volwassene te lezen of om uit voor te lezen.

Debonding and Fixed Retention in Orthodontics

An Evidence-Based Clinical Guide with reviews the protocols, materials, and techniques required at two key stages of orthodontic treatment.

Discovering Statistics Using IBM SPSS Statistics - - 6th edition

With its unique combination of humor and step-by-step instruction, this award-winning book is a statistics lifesaver.

Researching Medical Education

An authoritative guide to excellence in educational research within the healthcare professions. It provides readers with key foundational knowledge, while introducing a range of theories and how to use them, illustrating a diversity of methods and their use, and giving guidance on practical researcher development.

Klachten na kanker: praktisch handboek voor de eerste lijn

Een groeiende groep patiënten geneest na de diagnose kanker, maar zij kunnen er klachten aan overhouden, zoals neuropathie, angst, vragen overwerk, seks en zingeving. Patiënten leggen zelf lang niet altijd zelf het verband met hun eerdere diagnose. Dit boek biedt zorgverleners in de eerste lijn informatie, casuïstiek en praktische handvatten.

A Short History of Medicine

Covering the broad sweep of discoveries from parasitic worms to bacilli and x-rays, and highlighting physicians and scientists from Hippocrates and Galen to Pasteur, Koch, and Roentgen,

P6-methode : projectaanpak in zes stappen

Laagdrempelige methode om projecten succesvol aan te pakken. Het boek is voor bedrijven, overheden en instellingen en voor studenten in het hoger onderwijs.

Van solo naar synergie

Handboek voor interprofessionele praktijk, onderwijs en onderzoek

Praktijkgericht onderzoek in de (paramedische) zorg

Dit boek leert je problemen uit de praktijk gericht te onderzoeken, onderzoek te waarderen, wetenschappelijke artikelen kritisch te lezen en te komen tot oplossingen voor praktijkproblemen. In vier delen wordt het onderzoeksproces beschreven en volgt zo een student's journey.

Artificial intelligence and machine learning in health care and medical sciences : best practices and pitfalls

The art and science of compassionate care : a practical guide

Hormone Balance for Dummies

Accessible and exciting new take on hormonal imbalance. You'll discover why hormone balance is so important for you and contributes to everything from the maintenance of a healthy weight to fertility, mental wellness, and overall health. The author goes beyond diet and lifestyle to offer practical nervous system regulation tips and dive deep on available treatment options for hormonal imbalance.