Import articles from Embase into RefWorks

1. Conduct your search 
    
2. Mark the articles that you want to import using the check boxes.
    
3. Select the Export button
   
    
4. Choose RefWorks Direct Export from the drop down box
   
    
5. Click Export
    
6. Click Submit to RefWorks  
    
7. Log in to RefWorks when needed
    
8. At 'Import Complete': click OK
    
9. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder.
    
10. It is recommended to first deduplicate the imported references. You can find the procedure under the heading Deduplication

Save articles from Cochrane Library to RefWorks

1. To export a few references: Click on the checkbox to the left of each record to import and click on the Export Selected link at the top of the results list  
   To export all results: If you want to export all results from a search, just select Export All 
    
2. Choose your file type according to the computer you're using (PC, Mac, or UNIX/LINUX).
    
3. For Export Type select Citation or Citation and Abstract. 
    
4. Click on Export Citation.
    
5. When prompted, save the resulting text file where you'll be able to find it later.
    
6. Log in to RefWorks.
    
7. Click the plus button in the toolbar and select Import references from the dropdown menu.
    
8. Drag and drop your text file to the indicated space OR click Select a file from your computer, select the text file you saved, and click Open.
    
9. RefWorks will ask what format the file is.  Enter Cochrane Library, then select the database you were searching in from the dropdown menu.
    
10. Click Import.
     
11. Your records will be downloaded automatically and should appear in your Last Imported folder.
     
12. It is recommended to first deduplicate the imported references. You can find the procedure under the heading Deduplication

Save articles from EBSCOhost (contains: PsycINFO, CINAHL)

For Direct Export:

1. Conduct a search.
2. Click on the Add to folder icon for each of the results you want to save.
3. Click on the Folder icon in the upper right-hand corner.
4. Re-select the references to export.
5. Click on the Export icon.
6. Click the radio button in front of Direct Export to RefWorks to initiate a direct export .
   
   Note: Uncheck the Remove these items from folder after saving option, if you want items to remain in the folder after performing the export function.
7. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
8. Choose a RefWorks version to export to: 
   
9. Click OK
10. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder

To Manually Save and Export Records:

1. Conduct a search.
2. Click on the Add to folder icon for each of the results you want to save.
3. Click on the Folder icon in the upper right-hand corner.
4. Re-select the references to export.
5. Click on the Export icon.
6. Click the radio button in front of Generic bibliographic management software .  
   
   Note: Uncheck the Remove these items from folder after saving option, if you want items to remain in the folder after performing the export function.
7. Click Save .
8. From the File menu select Save As .
9. Select the location where you want to save the file, type the name you want and select Text as the Save As Type.
10. Log in to RefWorks .
11. Select References/Import from the toolbar.
12. Select EBSCOhost as the data source and the appropriate database you searched from.
13. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.
14. Click Import.
15. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder .

Exporting large numbers of records from EBSCO databases to RefWorks

If you use any of the EBSCO databases, you may have been frustrated by the discovery that you can only add 50 records at any one time to the Folder for exporting to RefWorks or EndNote (or your chosen referencing software). So you need to add records 1-50, then add records 51-100 and so on. (EBSCO databases include: CINAHL, MEDLINE, PsycINFO, SPORTDiscus). However, there is an alternative. RefWorks recommends that you don’t import more than 2,500 references (or 3 MB) at one time.

Exporting references from EBSCO database

• Run your search in an EBSCO database, for example, PsycINFO.
• On the EBSCO results page – under the Share option, you should see a link at the foot that says: Email a link to download exported results. Select this link.
• Then enter your Email address and subject line for the email.
• And choose the option: RIS Format  
• Then choose Send
• You’ll be emailed a link to a zipped file of your records in RIS format. The email can take a few minutes to arrive.

Importing references into referencing software Directions for RefWorks:

• When the email arrives, in the email message click on the link to the zip file, then select Open.
• Then right click on the name of the file and select Open.
• Then select Open - you may be offered a list of programs to open the file with – choose Notepad.
• With the file open in Notepad, select File, Save As and give the file a name and make sure you save it as a Text Document (.txt file).
• In RefWorks, select the plus sign, then Import References.
• For Import Filter/Data Source, select: RIS Format.
• For Database, select: RIS Format.
• Browse to find the text file of your records.
• Choose the folder you wish to import into.
• Then, select Import.
• If you have a very large number of records they can take a few minutes to import.

Import articles from EBSCOhost (contains: PsycINFO, CINAHL)

• Less than 50 articles (with Direct Export)
• More than 50 articles (save as RIS file)

For Direct Export (less than 50 articles):

1. Conduct a search.
2. Click on the Add to folder icon for each of the results you want to save.
3. Click on the Folder icon in the upper right-hand corner.
4. Re-select the references to export.
5. Click on the Export icon.
6. Click the radio button in front of Direct Export to RefWorks to initiate a direct export .
   
   Note: Uncheck the Remove these items from folder after saving option, if you want items to remain in the folder after performing the export function.
7. Click the Save button to begin the direct export.
8. Choose a RefWorks version to export to: 
   
9. Click OK
10. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder

To Manually Save and Export Records:

1. Conduct a search.
2. Click on the Add to folder icon for each of the results you want to save.
3. Click on the Folder icon in the upper right-hand corner.
4. Re-select the references to export.
5. Click on the Export icon.
6. Click the radio button in front of Generic bibliographic management software .  
   
   Note: Uncheck the Remove these items from folder after saving option, if you want items to remain in the folder after performing the export function.
7. Click Save .
8. From the File menu select Save As .
9. Select the location where you want to save the file, type the name you want and select Text as the Save As Type.
10. Log in to RefWorks .
11. Select References/Import from the toolbar.
12. Select EBSCOhost as the data source and the appropriate database you searched from.
13. Browse to find the text file you saved to your computer.
14. Click Import.
15. Your records should appear in the Last Imported Folder .

Exporting large numbers of records from EBSCO databases to RefWorks (more than 50 articles)

If you use any of the EBSCO databases, you may have been frustrated by the discovery that you can only add 50 records at any one time to the Folder for exporting to RefWorks or EndNote (or your chosen referencing software). So you need to add records 1-50, then add records 51-100 and so on. (EBSCO databases include: CINAHL, MEDLINE, PsycINFO, SPORTDiscus). However, there is an alternative. RefWorks recommends that you don’t import more than 2,500 references (or 3 MB) at one time.

Exporting references from EBSCO database

• Run your search in an EBSCO database, for example, PsycINFO.
• On the EBSCO results page – under the Share option, you should see a link at the foot that says: Email a link to download exported results. Select this link.
• Then enter your Email address and subject line for the email.
• And choose the option: RIS Format  
• Then choose Send
• You’ll be emailed a link to a zipped file of your records in RIS format. The email can take a few minutes to arrive.

Importing references into referencing software Directions for RefWorks:

• When the email arrives, in the email message click on the link to the zip file, then select Open.
• Then right click on the name of the file and select Open.
• Then select Open - you may be offered a list of programs to open the file with – choose Notepad.
• With the file open in Notepad, select File, Save As and give the file a name and make sure you save it as a Text Document (.txt file).
• In RefWorks, select the plus sign, then Import References.
• For Import Filter/Data Source, select: RIS Format.
• For Database, select: RIS Format.
• Browse to find the text file of your records.
• Choose the folder you wish to import into.
• Then, select Import.
• If you have a very large number of records they can take a few minutes to import.

Importing references from a database