Most used biomedical article databases

PubMed
Biomedical journal articles
Concerned about censorship? Read our news item: PubMed & Trump
Contains articles about biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

This special link to PubMed adds a 'Get-it!' button to each article, taking you directly to the full text.
EMBASE
Biomedical journal articles
You can use Embases as your primary database for literature on:
- drugs and chemicals (pharmacology)
- medical devices
- conference abstracts
Cochrane Library
Systematic reviews and controlled trials
The Cochrane Library provides high-quality, independent evidence to support decision making in healthcare.
Web of Science
Citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals, as well as international proceedings. With cited reference searching.

All biomedical article databases

AMED - Allied and Complementary Medicine
Articles about alternative treatments, coverage mainly European
CINAHL
Nursing and Allied Health
Cochrane Library
Systematic reviews and controlled trials

The Cochrane Library provides high-quality, independent evidence to support decision making in healthcare.
EMBASE
Biomedical journal articles

You can use Embases as your primary database for literature on:
- drugs and chemicals (pharmacology)
- medical devices
- conference abstracts
ERIC
Educational resources
IEEE Xplore
Engineering articles, also in the medical field
INVERT
Bibliography of nursing journals in Dutch

Index van de Nederlandstalige Verpleegkundige Tijdschriftliteratuur, is een databank met uitgebreide beschrijvingen van alle artikelen die in de Nederlandstalige verpleegkundige tijdschriften verschijnen: TVZ, Cordiaal, Verpleegkunde, Kritiek, Nursing, Nederlands tijdschrift voor wondverzorging, Bijzijn XL, Oncologica, Critical care
OvidSP (Medline)
Portal to the bibliographical databases of Ovid
PopLine
The world's reproductive health literature
Popline ended on September 10, 2019
PsychiatryOnline
DSM-5 and related resources for psychiatry & clinical psychology

from the American Psychiatric Association (APA)
PsycINFO
Articles on psychology and psychiatry

PsycInfo is the leading international bibliographical database with references for psychology and adjacent fields
PubMed
Biomedical research articles

Contains articles about biomedicine and health fields, and related disciplines such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

This special link to PubMed adds a 'Get-it!' button to each article, taking you directly to the full text.
SciFinder Web
Biochemistry

Bibliography of chemistry and molecular sciences in general (1907-)
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings.
SocINDEX
Articles on sociology and related fields
Web of Science
Citation database with multidisciplinary coverage of journals, as well as international proceedings. With cited reference searching.